Showing posts with label Files. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Files. Show all posts

Friday, August 30, 2013

A Doors Life

As I mentioned in an earlier post I presented a session called "A Door's Life" at the recent Central States Revit Workshop. It tackles creating a host door family that nests 2 panels, 2 frames and 2 handles. It also features a nested clearance form for clash detection and a variable plan swing angle. The host door permits rotating the 3D panel and hardware to any angle as well, though 0-180 is probably the range that's most useful.

If you are interested in more information this is the handout that attendees received (embedded here).



As the handout will tell you it isn't meant to be the perfect door. It's a demonstration of concepts and how to put them all together. If you're lucky you'll end up with something you can use right away or at the very least have a good idea how to get where you want to go.

Click to Download the completed files for each exercise.

Friday, August 16, 2013

Dropping Files

My son is into "Dub Step" and he tells me "the drop" has special meaning but this post is about dragging and dropping files into Revit. You may be aware that, like other Windows applications and files, you can drag and drop a file from Windows Explorer into Revit and Revit will open the file.

As you have probably noticed I like subtle stuff. Brian Mackey mentioned in his adaptive point session at Central States Revit Workshop yesterday that where we drop the file affects how Revit will respond. If we drop a file on the ribbon Revit will open the file. If you drop the file into the canvas or drawing area, and a project or family is already open, it will likely load the family into the other open file instead. If you really want to open the file just be careful where you drop the file.

In Dub Step terms, "Where's the Drop dude?"

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Revit Journal Folder and Saving Files on Network Drives

Revitform.org member "Cellophane" dropped this reminder/tip recently.

When you save project files that DO NOT use worksets and family files on a network folder Revit stores a copy of the files in your user Journal folder. Since release 2012 Revit has been using this location for the Journal folder and files:

C:\Users\\AppData\Local\Autodesk\Revit\Autodesk Revit "version"

While chatting with support they gave him this explanation:
    "This happens when saving directly to a network location as a data security function, i.e. if the network save fails, the data can be recovered from the local journals folder. If you save locally you will not populate the folder. The reason behind it is saving non-worksharing files to a network introduces a greater possible of failure, so dropping a copy in the journal folder is a way of recovering them."
If you don't keep an eye on this you'll end up with quite a lot of files there. If other people use your computer and Revit then they've probably been "stealing" some disk space from your pc too. As tedious as it might seem to have to clean this out from time to time, the feature came in really handy recently when I managed to kill a few families that I thought I no longer needed. The next day a change came along and I needed them back. No, I didn't archive them for some reason...still not sure why. Regardless, the copies in the Journal folder sure came in handy though! I'm glad I didn't clean them out the day before.

Friday, May 31, 2013

Hide Workset Backup Folders

If you ever work on a project where there quite a few central files it can be bothersome that the _backup folders that Revit uses are presented first in the dialogs that provide access to files. I've found that I can use the "Hidden" file flag to get rid of them assuming I can live with my Folder View settings assigned to hide hidden files and folders.

In the properties of the Workset project's backup folder I check "Hidden".



Then in the settings that govern the display of files and folders in Windows Explorer I use the "Don't show hidden..." option.



Personally I find I need to be able to see hidden files or folders fairly often so it ends up being a bit annoying when I've made the change. I tend to flip back and forth and decide how long I'm going to be working a certain way before committing.

Something to consider...

Thursday, February 28, 2013

Show History and a Rogue User Name

I wrote a post recently mentioning that we can use Show History on any file. I saw a post at AUGI that asked how users that claim they've never opened a file might show up in the Show History data. When you use Publish Coordinates to a project file you are altering that file when you save the changes and that change is recorded in the Show History data for it too.


Saturday, December 8, 2012

Audit

I wish Audit had more to say. I wish I had a clue what it was actually trying to do, what it cares about, why I should care about it.

The WikiHelp says this about Audit:
    Scans, detects, and fixes corrupt elements in the project. This option can greatly increase the time required to open files. Use this option only for periodic maintenance of large workshared files or when you are preparing to upgrade.

It doesn't tell us what it did, if there was anything to do or fix or that our file was too excellent to do anything at all. That's all I want for Christmas. Okay, that's not true but I'd still like it for Christmas.

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Upgrading and Reloading Families

I overhead a conversation the other day at Autodesk University. One person suggested to the other that we should always upgrade families to the latest release and then reload them all into our project after it has been upgraded. They theorized that Revit was having to "upgrade" them each time we open a project, like the message we see when a linked file is still based on an earlier version. Assuming that is true they went on to say that upgrading the families and reloading them would avoid this repeated upgrading of content when you open a project.

My gut feeling is that is not true after the project is initially upgraded. I believe that the process of upgrading a project is taking into account the content that is part of the project as well. If I'm correct then the content inside the project is effectively upgraded as well. Saving a family out of the project results in a new family based on that version of Revit too, not the previous one.

Only a developer or product designer/manager could say for certain though.